Home > Consular District Info > Provinces Info
Ifugao - Land of The Eighth World Wonder



Ifugao is located at the foot of the Cordillera Mountain Ranges. Its capital is Lagawe.

The Rice Terraces of the Philippine Cordilleras and Banaue Rice Terraces are the main tourist attractions in the province. These terraces are believed to have been hand-carved into the mountains 2,000 years ago to plant rice.

In 1995, the Rice Terraces of the Philippine Cordilleras were declared as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In 2008 and 2015, the Hudhud chants of the Ifugao and the Punnuk (Tugging rituals and games) were inscribed in the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Lists.

Quick facts



POPULATION:202, 802(As of 2015)

GEOGRAPHY: Ifugao is located at the foot of the Cordillera Mountain Ranges. It is bounded on the west by Benguet, on the south by Nueva Vizcaya, on the east by Isabela and on the north by Mt. Province. Ifugao has a land area total of 2,517.78 sq. km. Situated within the Cordillera Central mountain range, Ifugao is characterized by rugged terrain, river valleys, and massive forests.


TOWNS/MUNICIPALITIES:11 (Aguinaldo, Lista, Asipulo, Banaue, Hingyon, Hungduan, Kiangan, Lagawe, Lamut, Mayoyao and Tinoc.)


LANGUAGE: Ifugao is a Philippine language spoken mainly in Ifugao province in Luzon in the Philippines by about 130,000 people. There are four main dialects of Ifugao: Batad Ifugao, Amganad Ifugao, Mayoyao Ifugao and Tuwali Ifugao, which are considered as separate languages by some.

RELIGION: The Ifugao people have an indigenous religion unique to their traditional culture, and highly significant to the preservation of their life ways and valued traditions. They believe in the existence of thousands of gods, which may enter specific sacred objects such as the bul-ul.

<Suggest To A Friend>