Home > Consular District Info > Provinces Info
Ilocos Norte - The Best Of Culture And Nature



Ilocos Norte is a province of the Philippines located in the Ilocos Region. Its capital is Laoag City.

Long before the coming of the Spaniards, there existed an extensive region which was renowned for its gold mines. The inhabitants of the region called their place "samtoy", from "sao mi ditoy", which literally meant "our language".
Ilocos Norte boasts its culture and heritage as well as its tourist attractions starting from Laoag, the capital of Ilocos Norte and the hub of everything Ilocano. The World Heritage Sites and sand dunes of Paoay in the south; the famous white beaches in Pagudpud and gigantic windmills in the north; and the verdant mountains and tribal villages in the east.

Quick facts

Vice Governor: CECILIA A. MARCOS

POPULATION:593,081 (As of 2015)

GEOGRAPHY: Ilocos Norte has a land of 3,662 sq.km., bordered by Ilocos Sur (south), Abra (southeast), Cagayan (east), and South China Sea (west). CITIES 2 (Laoag & Batac)

CITY: 2 (Laoag City and Batac City)

TOWNS/MUNICIPALITIES: 21 (Adams, Bacarra, Badoc, Bangui, Banna, Burgos, Carasi, Currimao, Dingras, Dumalneg, Marcos, Nueva Era, Pagudpud, Paoay, Pasuquin, Piddig, Pinili, San Nicolas, Sarrat, Solsona & Vintar)


LANGUAGE: Iloko (Ilocano) is the common language, although English and Filipino are widely used.

RELIGION: Roman Catholic: 54.20%; Aglipay: 28.82%; Evangelicals: 5.12%; Iglesia ni Cristo: 4.37%; Others: 7.49% (end 2007)


<Suggest To A Friend>